How to....

a. Create my Profile

a. Create my Profile

b. Build a CV

b. Build a CV

c. Add Files

c. Add Files

d. Create ePortfolio Pages

d. Create ePortfolio Pages

e. Keep and share a Journal

e. Keep and share a Journal

f. Change my ePortfolio Page Layout

f. Change my ePortfolio Page Layout

g. Copy ePortfolio Pages

g. Copy ePortfolio Pages

h. Manage Folders & Files

h. Manage Folders & Files

i. Join Groups & Make Friends

i. Join Groups & Make Friends

j. Share your ePortfolio Pages

k. Create a Collection (set of pages)

k. Create a Collection (set of pages)

m. Feedback

m. Feedback

n. Submit a Page or Collection for assessment

n. Submit a Page or Collection for assessment

How to share pages (and Collections)

What is Sharing?

When you have created a page in studentfolio, no one else can see the page until you chose to Share it. The option to Share means you can customise who has access to view your Page.

Permission settings to view a page (or a collection) are as follows:

  • Specific individuals (Friends and Users),
  • A Group,
  • All users with access to studentfolio (Logged-in users),
  • Or anyone on the Internet (Public).

There are two places on studentfolio where you can set who has access to view your Pages:

 

1 - Go directly to 'Shared by me'. 

Go to Portfolio > Shared by me.

This is the quickest way to find a page and edit the access rights and if you want to apply the same access rights to multiple pages or a collection in one go.

  • This is also the place where you are able to produce a Secret URL for a page.

The Share screen shows you:

a. A list of all of your existing Pages and Collections.
b. The Access list, highlighting which users or groups you have given access to on particular pages or collections.
c The Edit access buttons for each page or collection to change the access rights.
d. The Secret URL buttons for each collection or page to generate a hidden web address.

 

2 - Share when editing a Page.

The menu link 'Share page' is available when you are editing a page and allows you to set up access permissions while you are already editing the content on a page.

Click this link to take you to the Edit Access screen.

 

Details

Edit Access to a Page

The Edit access screen allows you to choose who can see your page or collection.
 
 
 
a. All of the Collections or Pages you can edit are shown with a tick box beside them. The page or collection you wanted to edit is already ticked but you can tick additional boxes to apply the same settings to other pages at the same time.
 
Under 'Share with' you can choose to give access to:
 
b. The Public - Anyone who knows the URL or searches the web can see the page.
c. Logged-in users - All users of studentfolio with a University account.
d. Friends - Anyone you have accepted as a Friend in studentfolio.
 
Under 'Share with groups' you can choose to give access to:
 
e. All my groups - The members of every group you are in can view the page or collection.
f. A particular group you are a member of. These are listed separately.
 
Click the Add button beside the option or group you want to give access to.
 
Who has access to the page or collection is then listed on the right of the screen under the heading Added.
 

To give access rights to specific users and groups:

 
Under 'Share with users':
 
Click 'Share with other users and groups' to show additional options to give access to an individual user or group in studentfolio. These options allow you to chose people who aren't your friends or a group you're not a member of.
 
 
a. Search using the drop down menu to filter your results by Friends, Groups or other Users (anyone registered on studentfolio). Type in the name of a user or group and click Go to search.
 
b. A list of your existing Friends is shown beneath the search. 
 
Click the Add button beside the name of a group or person to give them access.
Details

Restricting and removing access

Once you have given people or groups access to a page or collection, who has access is listed under the heading Added on the Edit access screen.
 
 
From here you can:
 
a. Control the length of time those you've added have access to a page or collection.
Click the Calendar icon beside the From: and To: boxes to enter a Date/Time.
 
b. Click the Delete button next to a particular person or group to remove their access rights.
Details

Create a Secret URL for a Page

What is a Secret URL and how does it work?

 
The Secret URL feature can be used to generate a web link to share your page with specific people who haven't got access to studentfolio outside of the University, (e.g. a prospective employer,) without having to make your page or collection publicly available on the Internet.
 
You can let people have access to your page by sending them the Secret URL link you've produced.
 
Using the Secret URL means your page or collections can't be found by search engines (e.g. Google) if someone does an Internet search. But if someone has the link they can view the page via the web.
 
You can produce multiple Secret URL's for the same page or collection to give out to different people and then delete them when you want to remove access.
 

To generate a Secret URL:

 
1. Go to Portfolio and Share.
 
 
2. Click on the 'Edit Secret URL access' button next to the page or collection you want.
 
a. Click the Add button to generate the Secret URL.
b. The Secret URL is listed. This can be copied and pasted.
c. Click either the Edit button to add a Date and Time restriction or the Delete button to remove access to the URL completely.
 
Details